The Free Plan Index: where 22 tools stop being free
"Free plan available" means six different things. We read the pricing page and the docs for every tool on this site and wrote down the limit that ends the free ride first — the one that is never on the pricing page in plain language. Every price and cap below was verified by hand on September 9, 2026.
Free tiers change without notice. If you are about to build something on one, check the vendor's page too, and tell us if we are out of date.
Free forever, and genuinely enough to run on
A real business can stay on these indefinitely. The limit exists, but most people never reach it, and none of them ask for a card.
Brevo
- What ends it first
- The 301st email in one day, and sending approval before that — the account has to be approved before anything goes out.
- Enough for
- A business with a large list that emails rarely. Unlimited contacts is real; the daily cap is the trade.
- The free plan, in full
- Free forever with up to 300 emails per day once the account is approved for sending; unlimited contacts; Brevo branding on emails.
Notion
- What ends it first
- Collaboration. Solo use is effectively unlimited; the block and file-upload limits appear when you add teammates.
- Enough for
- One person running docs, a CRM board, SOPs and a wiki. Two or more people will hit the ceiling.
- The free plan, in full
- Individual use with collaborative-block and file-upload limits, trial AI, basic forms and sites, Notion Calendar, databases with subtasks.
Systeme.io
- What ends it first
- The 4th funnel, or the 2,001st contact. Automation is capped at 1 rule, so complex sequences push you up first in practice.
- Enough for
- Selling one course or one offer. Funnels, email, a course area and a checkout on one free plan, no card required, is the most business a free tier will run.
- The free plan, in full
- Never expires, no card required: 2,000 contacts, 3 funnels, 1 automation rule, 1 workflow, 1 custom domain, 1 course, 1 blog, 1 community, unlimited emails and file storage.
Tally
- What ends it first
- Nothing, for most people. Branding on the form and no custom domain are the only pressure.
- Enough for
- Any business collecting orders, bookings, applications or payments through forms. Unlimited submissions with payments and signatures included is not matched by anything else here.
- The free plan, in full
- Unlimited forms and submissions under fair-use limits; includes payments, signatures, file uploads, logic, calculations, and integrations; Tally branding shown, no custom domain.
Zoho CRM
- What ends it first
- The 4th user. Export limits bite before that if you plan to leave.
- Enough for
- A team of up to 3 running a real pipeline. The most usable free CRM for a small team that is not on HubSpot.
- The free plan, in full
- Free for up to 3 users; contact and deal basics, simple workflow automation, 10 custom email templates, standard reports, limited exports, mobile apps.
Free until a specific number you will hit
Honestly free, with a hard cap that arrives on a date you can predict. Knowing which number ends it is the whole decision.
Calendly
- What ends it first
- The 2nd event type. One meeting type, one calendar, one-to-one only.
- Enough for
- One person taking one kind of booking. Offering a 15-minute and a 60-minute option is the paywall.
- The free plan, in full
- 1 event type, 1 calendar connection, one-on-one meetings only, customisable booking page, browser extension.
HeyGen
- What ends it first
- The 4th video in a month, and every one is watermarked and capped at a minute.
- Enough for
- Trying an avatar before paying. The watermark makes it unusable for client work.
- The free plan, in full
- 3 videos per month, 1-minute maximum length, 1 custom avatar, watermarked, standard processing speed.
HubSpot
- What ends it first
- The 3rd user. Contacts run to 1,000 and marketing email to 2,000 sends a month, both with HubSpot branding.
- Enough for
- A two-person sales team that wants a real pipeline, meeting links and sequences without paying.
- The free plan, in full
- Up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts; marketing email capped at 2,000 sends per month with HubSpot branding; 3 email templates in Sales; live chat carries branding.
Jotform
- What ends it first
- The 101st submission in a month, or the 11th payment.
- Enough for
- A low-volume intake or order form. The payment cap is the one that surprises people.
- The free plan, in full
- Starter: 5 forms, 100 submissions/mo, 10,000 views/mo, 100 MB uploads, 500 stored submissions, 10 payment submissions and 10 signed documents per month, single user, Jotform branding.
Kit (formerly ConvertKit)
- What ends it first
- Automation, not subscribers. 10,000 subscribers is free, but there are no sequences or automations at all, so the first welcome email you want to automate is the paywall.
- Enough for
- A newsletter that broadcasts manually. The headline number is honest and the missing feature is the catch.
- The free plan, in full
- Up to 10,000 subscribers with unlimited broadcasts, landing pages and forms; no automations or sequences, one user, Kit branding, basic support.
Klaviyo
- What ends it first
- The 251st profile, or 500 sends in a month. Support stops after 60 days.
- Enough for
- Testing ecommerce flows on a small store. It is priced to move you up quickly.
- The free plan, in full
- Up to 250 active profiles, 500 email sends per month, $5 of mobile messaging and $5 of Composer usage per month; email support for the first 60 days only.
MailerLite
- What ends it first
- The 251st subscriber, or 2,500 emails in a month.
- Enough for
- A first list. 3 automations on a free plan is more than Kit gives, at a fortieth of the subscriber cap.
- The free plan, in full
- Up to 250 subscribers and 2,500 emails per month; 2 seats, 3 automations, 1 website and 1 landing page, 3 forms, community support only.
Make
- What ends it first
- The 3rd active scenario, or 1,000 credits. The 15-minute minimum interval means nothing runs in real time.
- Enough for
- Two automations you do not need instantly. The most generous free automation tier available.
- The free plan, in full
- Up to 1,000 credits per month, maximum 2 active scenarios, 15-minute minimum interval, 5-minute execution cap, 7-day log retention.
Synthesia
- What ends it first
- About 10 minutes of video a month, then the credits are gone.
- Enough for
- Two or three short explainer videos a month with a stock avatar.
- The free plan, in full
- Basic plan: 1,200 credits per month (up to about 10 minutes of video or dubbing, or 25 generated assets), 1 editor, 9 stock avatars, no card required.
Tidio
- What ends it first
- The 51st billable conversation in a month.
- Enough for
- A small store testing live chat. The AI conversations are a one-time 50, not monthly.
- The free plan, in full
- 50 billable conversations, 10 seats, 50 one-time Lyro AI conversations, 100 Flows visitors reached, live chat and ticketing, basic analytics, operating hours.
Typeform
- What ends it first
- The 101st response in a month.
- Enough for
- A survey or a one-off campaign. Tally does the same job without the cap.
- The free plan, in full
- 100 responses/month, 1 user, unlimited forms and questions, Typeform branding.
Zapier
- What ends it first
- The 101st task in a month, and any workflow needing more than two steps.
- Enough for
- One simple automation that fires a few times a day. Make's free tier is ten times the volume.
- The free plan, in full
- 100 tasks per month, one user, two-step Zaps only, daily cap on Copilot messages.
A trial wearing a free-plan badge
Marketed as a free plan, but missing something a business actually needs — your own domain, taking payment, storage, or a third teammate.
ClickUp
- What ends it first
- 60MB of storage. Unlimited tasks and members sounds generous until the first month of attachments fills it.
- Enough for
- Task lists with no files. Treat the storage cap as the real plan.
- The free plan, in full
- Unlimited tasks and members but 60MB storage, 2 basic custom fields, 1 form, 1 wiki, 3 whiteboards, and caps of 5 Spaces, 40 lists per space and 100 folders per space.
InVideo AI
- What ends it first
- Weekly AI credits that reset on Mondays. The free plan is not on the pricing page at all; the help centre confirms it and does not specify the watermark or export limits.
- Enough for
- Trying the prompt-to-video flow. The undocumented limits are the reason to be cautious.
- The free plan, in full
- Free plan is not shown on the pricing page but the help center confirms one: limited AI credits that reset weekly (Mondays 00:00 UTC), image generation, and social sharing; watermark and export limits are not specified in the official sources fetched.
monday.com
- What ends it first
- The 3rd seat, or the 4th board.
- Enough for
- Two people on three projects. This is a trial with no clock on it, not a free plan.
- The free plan, in full
- Up to 2 seats, 3 boards, 3 docs, 200+ templates, 8 column types, mobile apps.
Webflow
- What ends it first
- The 3rd page. Two static pages on a webflow.io subdomain, 50 form submissions.
- Enough for
- A landing page you are prototyping, not publishing.
- The free plan, in full
- Starter site plan: webflow.io subdomain, 2 static pages, limited CMS, 1 GB bandwidth, 50 form submissions; free Starter workspace with 2 staging sites.
Wix
- What ends it first
- Your own domain, and taking money. Free sites carry Wix branding, cannot use a custom domain and cannot accept payments.
- Enough for
- Seeing whether you like the editor. It cannot run a business site.
- The free plan, in full
- Free sites carry Wix branding and cannot connect a custom domain or accept payments; hosting, editor, and templates are included.
How we checked
Every entry comes from the vendor's own pricing page and help documentation, read by hand, with the date recorded. Where a vendor does not publish its free-plan limits — InVideo AI is the clearest case — we say so rather than guessing. Nothing here is taken from another comparison site, and no vendor pays for placement or for a better write-up. We do earn a commission on some links, which is on the disclosure page.
Spotted a cap that has changed? Tell us at hello@sortmystack.com and we will re-verify and update the date.
Once you know what is free
The tool finder asks five questions and recommends a stack from this data. The stack builder totals what a set of tools costs per month once the free plans run out, which is the number that actually matters.
Disclosure: we may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page. It does not change the price you pay or the order of our recommendations. How we make money.